Posted on: November 27, 2021 Posted by: Seema Comments: 0

After a 20-month hiatus, India will resume international flights to all nations on December 15. However, the number of flights allowed from each country will be limited based on its health risk classification.

The Indian government is treading carefully, banning flights to and from 14 countries, including France, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Germany, South Africa, Finland, Brazil, Bangladesh, China, Botswana, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, and Singapore.

If there is an air-bubble agreement in place with India, flights to and from countries designated “at-risk” can fly at 75% of their normal schedule, and 50 % if there isn’t.

This is attributable to an increase in the number of COVID-19 cases in these areas. Special flights under the Air Bubble arrangement, on the other hand, will continue.

According to the order issued by the Ministry of Civil Aviation, “The matter of resumption of scheduled commercial international passenger services to and from India has been examined in consultation with the Ministry of Home Affairs, the Ministry of External Affairs and the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare and it has been decided that scheduled commercial international passenger services to and from India may be resumed from December 15, 2021.”

However, the decision comes as other countries tighten travel restrictions in response to the discovery of a new coronavirus type in South Africa.

“Resumption of commercial international passenger services would imply reversion to bilaterally agreed capacity entitlements and termination of air bubble arrangements,” the Civil Aviation Ministry said.

If a government wants to conduct scheduled passenger flights to another country, it must first negotiate a bilateral air services agreement that specifies how many airlines, ports of entry, and total flights (or seats) per week are permitted between the two countries.
It stated that all booked overseas flights must correspond to the Union health ministry’s regulations for international travel, which were issued on November 11 of this year.

Leave a Comment